September Reach to Teach Blog Carnival

This is the September edition of the Reach to TeachTeach Abroad Blog Carnival. It’s a monthly series that provides helpful tips to ESL teachers around the globe. If you would like to get involved in next month’s carnival, please get in touch with Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com

This month, I’ve been given the opportunity to host and I’ve asked this group of talented bloggers to write about travel companions, whether it’s someone they’ve taken from home or met along the way, and what made sharing the road with them so fantastic.

This topic is close to my heart right now, as I’ve just finished a week long trek in Central Asia with an incredible group of women. It was a challenging week, but they made it awesome.

 

Please enjoy these road-relationship stories from the wonderful Reach to Teach bloggers:

Emma Dolan — My Travel Companion

I’m Emma, 29, from Manchester in the UK. I’m married and have a mini dachshund called Eric (after Eric Cantona). I have been teaching English abroad since I was 23. I have worked in a hagwon in Guri Si, Gyeonggi do, an English school in Arta, Greece, an international summer camp in Ascot, Uk and am now working with EPIK in Korea for 2 elementary schools. I have a CELTA grade B and I’m over halfway through a long distance MA in TESOL and Applied Linguistics from the University of Leicester, UK. I plan to stay in Korea until summer 2015 before heading back to Manchester. I love traveling and have been to over 40 countries. I am currently located in Daejeon, South Korea.

In this entry I write about my constant travel companion that is my husband who I’ve been traveling and working abroad with for several years.

Rebecca Thering – Be Yourself Like Ida was Herself

I’m a Wisconsin native who has just finished a year teaching English at a rural elementary school in South Korea.  My Spanish skills weren’t quite as useful there as they were when I lived in Madrid, which is where my Spanish nickname Rebe (Ray-bay) stuck. I have an itch to travel, craft, learn, and read – and to make the world a better place!

I don’t know her last name, if she has any siblings, nor where she is today, but my memories of Ida – a Danish girl I met three years ago in a small town in southern Spain – are the clearest of any person I’ve met along the road. Although her physical appearance would leave an impression, between the tattooed arms, ear lobe gauges, and a buzz cut just in the front quarter of her hair, it’s not her appearance that I remember distinctly, but rather her aura.

Dean Barnes – Travel Companions

My name is Dean, I have been traveling for around 4 years now with a small stint back in my home country. I’m from the UK and I began my teaching career on the island of Bali. I then made the move to Taiwan where I currently reside. Here I have the joy to fulfill my passion for writing by providing ESL/travel related articles to the Reach To Teach website.

My travel companion helped make my experience what it was. She is my best friend and we went to teach in both Bali and Taiwan together. We laughed, we cried, we almost died, and I wouldn’t change anything about it. This is an ode to my travel buddy, Hannah.

Mary Ellen – Chemi Megobari (My Friend)

Mary Ellen is flying off to London to attend graduate school and learn how to make a British cup of tea. She spent her past year in New Orleans, where she danced in the streets, ogled local art and ate crawfish. She loves the South, weird fiction and spicy food.

My entry is an ode to one of the best travel buddies I’ve ever had, and the shenanigans we found ourselves in.

Maggie Attoe — Travel Companions

My name is Maggie, originally from Wisconsin but LOVE to travel! Have been around the world, and want to tell you about my stories, and offer any travel advice that I can!

Meeting people along the way can pose a challenge but here is a short exert on how I came about some friends, and how sometimes family is the perfect companion to travel as well!

Liane Nichols — Favourite Travel Partner

Liane is a high school Geography teacher in Texas who spent two years traveling the world teaching English.  She has lived in Thailand, Georgia, and the Czech Republic.  She attended Texas State University to major in International Studies and Geography.  
My favorite travel partner is a crazy Aussie who experienced instant karma, saved me from a terrible beverage, and showed me so many new places I never considered travelling before.
2 thoughts on “September Reach to Teach Blog Carnival

  1. Pingback: Join The RTT Teach Abroad Blog Carnival - Reach to Teach

  2. Pingback: My Travel Companion. | Cupcake Traveler

Leave a Reply

